Renewing the Mind, Body, and Spirit through juicing

Pomegranates are in Season

Features of the Pomegranate

  • Most powerful anti-oxidant of all fruits
  • Potent anti-cancer and immune supporting effects
  • Inhibits abnormal platelet aggregation that could cause heart attacks, strokes and embolic disease
  • Lowers cholesterol and other cardiac risk factors
  • Lowers blood pressure
  • Shown to promote reversal of atherosclerotic plaque in human studies
  • May have benefits to relieve or protect against depression and osteoporosis

 

Seeding a Pomegranate

  1. Cut the crown (protruding blossom end) off the pomegranate, removing with it some of the pale-yellow pith. Take care not to pierce the seeds within.
  2. Lightly score the skin in quarters from stem to crown end.
  3. Immerse the scored fruit in a large bowl of cool water and soak for 5 minutes. Holding the fruit under water, break sections apart with your fingers, separating the seeds from membrane. The seeds will sink to the bottom of the bowl.
  4. Discard skin and membranes. Drain the seeds and dry on paper towels.

Juice of the day:

Handful Swiss chard
Italian parsley
1/2 cup pomegranate seeds
1/3 cup berries blend
1 banana
1/2 red pear
1 celery stalk
1/3 cup watermelon
1 tomato
2 tablespoons Goji berries
1 tablespoon Chia seeds
1 scoop protein powder
water

download (1)
cheers!

Comments on: "Pomegranates are in Season" (3)

  1. Ozzie Benoit
    Testimonial:

    Inspired by LaTania Watkins, motivated by the Joe Cross Netflix documentary “Fat, Sick and nearly Dead” and supported by my wife, Kimberly Benoit, I just completed a 10 day Juice Fast. For 10 days I only had Juice. I really missed chewing on something. It was a big deal for me because other than a very seldom dinner salad do I eat any vegetables at all. I probably had more vegetables in the last 10 days then in my entire life, I’m 52. It started when I returned from vacation Oct. 1st weighing in at 243.5 lbs. It was time to do something. I adjusted my diet, mainly portion size and in 25 days had only lost 3.5 lbs. Kimberly, pushing me to try Juicin’, got me to watch the documentary and seeing LaTania’s results, I decided to go for it.
    Day 1, no problem. Day’s 2 and 3, mild headaches and no energy, didn’t want to get off of the couch. Day 4 started feeling better. Day 5, feeling like it may be worth it, had lost 7.5 lbs. Day 6 I actually went on a 4 mile ride on my bike, the only exercise in the 10 days. Day 6 to 7, I lost 2.5 lbs. Day 8 I was dreading the green juices and could not wait for this fast to end, I was missing chewing. Day 9, with no lemons and adding banana to the green juice for my taste, I gained a .5 lb. None of the recipes called for banana’s and I was supposed to have warm water with lemon and ginger in the mornings and lemon in some of the juices. Day 10, finally! I was planning my chewing for the next day and had lost the .5 lb. that I had gained on day 9. I weighed in this morning at 226.5, 13.5 pounds lighter than 10 days prior and 17 lbs. lighter then Oct. 1st.
    I feel better and my energy level is up. I’m going to continue with a few juices a day and chew my other healthier meals. My son, Christen Benoit, is on day 10 today. It was great fasting with him as we supported each other. He’s lost some weight and really looks well, he can tell his own story.

    Thanks Tawny, Kim and Joe!!
    Could not have done it without you,
    Proud Cali Juice Club member Ozzie Benoit

    Like

  2. […] Pomegranates are in Season (calijuiceclub.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud